What things I learned in 2022 as a full stack developer

What things I learned in 2022 as a full stack developer

·

5 min read

2022 was a year that taught me various things about various topics like startups, the stock market, coding, etc. Genuinely talking, I improved this year as I realized that reality is very different from what one thinks. Read till the end and I will tell you my amazing story.

🧐Connecting Dots

In these 5 months, I spent most of my time making videos and blogs on self-help topics such as how to deal with anxiety. I gained a lot of experience in writing content and also structuring my content in a way which is simple for viewers to understand and learn from it. I didn't know that making videos on self-help videos will help me while I was making videos on coding topics such as How to use supabase auth.

You cannot connect dots looking forward, you can only connect them looking backward. -- Steve Jobs

During these months, my board exams (exams conducted in India for high school students) were also conducted in which I performed lethargically (badly) and you can imagine how I performed with the example that when I was having a science exam the day after, I was learning MongoDB. I was interested in scoring the highest marks in the exams as others do as I don't find any practical knowledge in those exams. But I learned it hard way that I needed to score high but no worries about the past 🤓.

💪Startup trap

I was one of those who were building a startup without even having an idea. It sounds pretty unobvious but having spent time in that trap I learned many things which would have wasted my time in the future. The lessons I learned are written below:

  1. 💪 It's not easy to do a startup.

  2. 🧮 If your startup is not solving any real problem, you are just wasting your time.

  3. ❓If you have self-doubt about your startup then you need to analyze it before it's too late.

  4. 🎥 Many influencers didn't do any business themselves but they will try to teach you how to do business.

  5. 📚 Practical knowledge is equal to or more important than the knowledge we gain from books. Eg If you went to a place, you can better understand it than the person who read about it.

  6. 💰 If it was so easy to make money, why didn't the whole world become rich?

Your idea doesn't matter until you execute it in the right manner. -- Ashneer Grover

🤩Youtube

In May, I finally decided to open a YouTube channel and blogging website (on hashnode, medium, dev.to) through which we help people learn to code. I was facing a problem with setting up supabase auth in my app so I thought why not make a video about it in Hindi? That's where I got started.

My channel's growth was amazing compared to my previous YouTube channels. So I just started putting more videos on it. I also started learning new things such as railway (for Postgres database hosting) to upload its videos on YouTube. In simple words, opening a channel on YouTube also improved my development skills. Moreover, if I want to teach something, I first deep dive into it. This habit of diving deep into a topic and then explaining it to the viewers helps me a lot in becoming a better researcher.

😍Career

It does not matter what skill I know, my parents wanted me to have a degree. So, I decided commerce with maths as my stream. Now, many of you will be thinking 💭 why did he choose that stream even having spent so much time coding? Your question is obvious and the following are the reasons:

  1. 🏦 I wanted to become a stock market investor and spend some part of my life researching markets and businesses.

  2. 🌴 Economics attracts me. Seriously, this subject just made me hook into this stream. Apart of the school syllabus I am used to reading books like (Principles for dealing with world changing order)https://amzn.to/3GEl49y.

  3. 💰 As I have told you, I was trapped in a startup trap which also influenced me to take this stream. I wanted to have adequate time for building my startup but when I got into the section, I realized the reality and changed myself as soon as possible.

🥳Opportunities

After reading till here, you can judge that my interests are finance, economics (including history, psychology) and the most important one that is engineering. By the way, for me, engineering is creating a valuable solution that helps people rather than getting a degree.

So for me, I see opportunities for myself in the following areas:

  1. Data Scientist

  2. Machine Learning expert

  3. Fund Manager

  4. Blockchain developer

  5. Business around any of these things:

    1. AI

    2. Investing

    3. Blockchain

⛓️Why am I learning blockchain?

Blockchain can be a future technology as it can be used to solve many industrial problems such as resource allocation and corruption. I am betting on this technology's usability in the industry. If this technology works out, then I am going to rock in the industry. By the way, at the time of writing this blog, I am learning blockchain from a blockchain expert (NOT sponsored) -- https://www.algoexpert.io/content#blockchainexpert.

I hope you have liked this blog. This blog doesn't include all of my 2022's events but I tried to teach you the most important lessons that I learned in the year.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Next Dev by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!